Peak

Calming my breath to bring focus
at each step in front of me.
Not on the peak, not on the person ahead of me.
Just the next step is where my focus would be.

I look up and my head swims,
fear creeps up inside.
No amount of preparation seems enough
when the goal is in sight.

Fear starts to swell,
growing and it expands.
Legs shiver, feet tremble,
thoughts arrive in my mind.

Look up and my head swims,
Look down and my heart sinks.
I wonder if I will survive or even
climb up again if I fall.

A few seconds pass with varied thoughts,
How perception of time changes.
Fear cannot be afforded,
neither can thoughts befall.

I calm my breath to bring attention
to the immediate next step.
The step is clear, my sight is clear,
I stop thinking, reduction in misstep.

Fear instantly leaves my body,
thoughts instantly subside.
This doesn’t mean I am not scared.
Only that the unnecessary is left behind.

Path is taken step-by-step,
Simplicity entails.
Precise steps, precise path,
Lucidity sails.

No thoughts, no fear, no ifs and buts.
Externalities may be inimical.
Internal is calm, inside is quiet,
Just attention leading to action.

Without notice steps end,
I look up to see around.
I am at the crest, unpigmented,
Path ends, journey at an end, abound.

Everything begins here, peak is the start.
Reality sinks in, sudden burst of relief.
Beauty abound, tears flow,
Raw beauty, all loss of existing belief.

Crest is the end and the start
of actuality, beauty, and, summon.
Call for senses, mastery, and, servility,
Chastening, explosive sermon.

Step-by-step, breath-by-breath,
walking with stillness.
Once path is clear,
summit is a welcoming ingress.

Leaving the inessential.
Removing the debris of anxiety and impression.
Course becomes clear, stride bears strength,
Apex becomes secondary, eventually at a foot’s length.

1 thought on “Peak

  1. Where mind and soul are in synk.No malice,world seems calm and mountains are your best buddy.Slowly and steady keep moving and keep challenging yourself to reach at the goal .Congratulations on exploring yet again beautiful Bali Pass.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment